Jargon Buster

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E

A

Ad call/request

The request for an advertisement as a direct result of a User's action as recorded by the ad server. Ad requests can come directly from the User’s browser or from an intermediate Internet resource, such as a web content server.

Ad server

A computer, normally operated by a third party, that delivers and tracks advertisements independent of the web site where the ad is being displayed. Use of an ad server helps establish trust between an Advertiser and Publisher since the statistics are maintained by an objective third party.

Adwords

Adwords is the name of the Google tool which allows anyone to bid on keywords to appear within the sponsored listings section of the Google search engine results pages.

Affiliate

See Publisher

Affiliate ID

(also known as Publisher ID) The Awin Affiliate ID is a unique number that identifies the Publisher on the Network. It is used within all tracking links so that the Awin system knows which Publisher to assign a sale to. It also tracks any banner impressions as well as clicks referred from the Publisher's website.

Example tracking link with the Publisher ID highlighted in red: http://www.awin1.com/awclick.php?mid=2194&id=45628

Affiliate Marketing Programme

(also known as Pay for Performance Marketing, Performance-based, Partner Marketing or CPA)

A type of revenue sharing programme where a Publisher receives a commission for generating a lead or sale for an Advertiser online.

Affiliate Networks

(Also known as Performance Marketing Networks)

A Network acts as an intermediary between Publishers and Advertisers. It provides the tracking technology, account management tools and support required to run performance marketing programs & campaigns.

Agency

An Agency is an independent company used by some Advertisers to manage various pieces of online or offline marketing activity on their behalf.

Analytics

Analytics tools are used by website owners to gain a greater level of understanding about their website/online marketing activity. This can include the number of visitors, time spent on the site, popular pages, bounce rates, exit points. The most popular free analytics tool is Google analytics.

Advertisers may also use third party companies such as Doubleclick, Atlas or Mediaplex, usually charged at a CPM rate based on clicks.

Animated .gif

A type of banner Advertisers use for display advertising or to supply to their Publishers. It is an animated graphic that rotates through various frames to display a marketing message, this animation is set to loop endlessly.

Approval Rate (percentage)

The number of pending sales that are confirmed as valid sales by an Advertiser.

Awin Index

A parameter to determine the success of an Advertiser program. We calculate this by taking four pieces of data (click to sale conversion, percentage of sales approved, earnings per click and validation turnaround time) and apply a formula to arrive at a score out of 100.

B

Banners

Banner is the term for an online graphic advertisement. We support standard IAB banner sizes, as well as custom sizes required by certain Advertisers. We support the following formats: GIF, JPEG/JPG and PNG and HTML5 Banners.

Batch Commission

A method of uploading the commissions validations file. Rather than manually accepting or declining commissions independently, Account Managers or Advertisers can batch validate using a .csv file.

Bonus

A Bonus is a monetary reward for good performance on a particular program. This can be applied manually by click on "Add manual commission" within the Advertiser interface, and then using the drop down for "commission type" to select "bonus".

Browser

A browser is a piece of software that allows you to navigate and view websites on the internet. The most common examples being Internet Explorer or Mozilla Firefox.

Brand Bidding

A term used for Publishers who bid on search engine keywords that are either the Advertisers brand name or phrases containing the brand name.

C

Click Append

A click append is a command which is added onto a destination URL in order to define the source of the activity which drove a customer to an Advertisers site.

Click Command

A line of HTML that is generated and included in the HTML tags. This HTML replaces the href attribute in the destination web address for a creative. A click command is used to track clicks on certain types of rich media, such as HTML, and on text-link ads.

Click-through

(also called click)

A click-though occurs when a visitor clicks on a link or banner on a Publisher website and is taken to an Advertiser's site. It can also be used to describe the URL that a visitor goes to once they have clicked on a banner.

clickTAG

A variable which is placed within a Flash file in place of an actual URL, in order to allow the ad server to use its own tracking URL.

Co-Branded Landing Page

This is a landing page that has been built to feature the logo and additional bespoke details of the site which referred the customer.

See example for Nectar on the Currys Publisher program: http://www.currys.co.uk/martprd/editorial/nectar

Setting up co-branded landing pages for top loyalty sites has proven to increase conversions. It serves to "hand-hold" the customer on their journey, when customers see the Nectar logo (in our example) they are reassured they have come to the correct page and will receive their nectar points upon purchase.

Co-registration Campaigns

Co-registration is the practice of collecting opt-ins for multiple organisations, and sometimes for types of products or services, on a website's registration page or on a paper subscription form.

An individual provides registration information once, but then opts in (via checkboxes) to receive marketing communications from multiple companies.

In other words, Advertisers will capture data such as email addresses and then share these with the Publisher afterwards (providing the user has opted in to receive additional marketing material)

Commission

(also known as CPA or reward)

Commission is the term for the money paid to a Publisher for providing leads or sales on an Advertiser's Publisher program. Awin completes two payment runs each month, once at the start and one mid month.

Commission Tiers

Commission Tiers can be established to reward Publishers increased commission for achieving greater amounts of volume. This can be based on the quantity of sales or the amount of revenue.

For more information see Performance Tiers

Commission Groups

Commissions can be divided into groups in order to reward different amounts for different items purchased.

For example, Play.com sell a variety of products which have varying levels of margin. They have established separate commission groups for DVD, CD, Games, Clothing, Electricals, Mobile, Books, Computing, Gadgets and Games Consoles. This allows them greater control of their ROI as well as granular reporting on category performance by publisher.

The commission group "code" is passed to Awin for each item in the customers basket within the "aw_parts" parameter in the tracking tag.

Confirmation/Thank-You Page

This is the page that a visitor comes to after making a purchase or providing lead information on an advertisers website. It is within the source code of this page that the Awin tracking tag resides.

Conversion

The number of sales divided by the number of clicks. This figure represents the percentage of people who go on to purchase after clicking on a publishers link.

Cookie

A cookie is a text file stored on a visitors computer, that contains pieces of information, including which publishers website they were on before they clicked on the banner/link that took them to the advertisers website.

Cookie Length

The length of time a cookie will remain on a users computer; the industry standard is 30 days. This means that if your tracking link is activated by a visitor to your site who purchases an item in 30 days time, you will be allocated the commission (providing you were the last referrer.)

Cookie Stuffing

This is a technique used to generate fraudulent publisher sales. A cookie or lots of cookies are placed on a visitors computer without them knowing. Subsequently when they then make a purchase the publisher is wrongly rewarded the commission.

When a visitor is on a page that is trying to cookie stuff they will never leave the website and wont be redirected to the advertisers site. These cookies are simply placed in the web browser without them knowing!

There are various methods used to stuff cookies some examples being via an invisible iFrame or popup.

Industry expert on spyware/malitious activity is Ben Edelman, see http://www.benedelman.org/ for his research.

Cost per Lead

The commission structure where the advertiser pays the publisher an agreed fee for each qualified lead (potential customer) referred to the advertiser's website.

Cost per Sale

The commission structure where the advertiser pays a publisher a percentage or flat fee for a sale of a product or service to a customer referred to the advertiser's site.

CPA

CPA stands for "Cost Per Acquisition". This is the amount that the advertiser is willing to pay for an acquisition/lead. The cost per acquisition may be set as a percentage or fixed value, and is also a metric used to monitor performance and to set targets to.

CPC

Cost per click (CPC) is one of the online payment models by which advertisers pays for each click through made on their advertisement. Prices typically range from 2 pence to over 50 pence per click-through. This is an ideal method of payment for advertisers who need to guarantee they only pay for those viewers of the banner that click on it and visit a page on their site.

CPM

Cost per thousand (CPM) is one of the online payment models by which advertisers pay for every 1000 impressions of their advertisement. Prices typically range from £1 to over £50 per thousand impressions. This is an ideal method of payment for advertisers who want to guarantee only the number of people who sees their banner. The "M" in CPM is from the Roman numeral for 1000. The Roman numeral M was derived from the Latin word "mille" meaning "thousand".

Creative

A phrase commonly used to descibe banner adverts.

Cross Selling

Cross selling is the art of encouraging a customer visiting your site to acquire additional or complementary items to their initial/main puchase. An example would be someone buying a holiday then also being marketed and taking car hire and travel insurance.

CSV Feed

CSV stands for "Comma Seperated Values" and this is a format that publishers can download all products for a particular advertiser.

Each product is displayed on one row with the individual fields of data broken up with commas.

For example dvd,bedtime stories, 19.99, 12.99, pg, 1, http://www.play.com/DVD/DVD/4-/5439885/Bedtime-Stories/Product.html

This represents: A DVD Title is Bedtime Stories RRP is £19.99 Price is £12.99 Rating is PG It is in stock "1" = Yes And the URL for the offer page

CTR

CTR stands for "Click Through Rate". This is measured as a percentage of visitors that view a banner advert and subsequently click through to the advertisers website.

For example, a banner serves 125,000 impressions (views) and 1,600 clicks, 125,000/1,600 = 1.3% CTR.

D

Datafeed

A Datafeed is supplied by an Advertiser, processed by Awin in order to ensure that all links and images are trackable by Awin. The Affiliate will then use the outputted datafeed within their websites.

De-Duplication

De-duplication is the process of attributing a sale to one online marketing channel on predefined conditions, these conditions will decide which tracking tag is shown at the confirmation of sale page.

Example: Where an advertiser runs their programme on two networks, de-duplication is essential to prevent paying for the same sale twice.

This can occur when a customer has visited publisher sites from both networks, and ends up with two publisher network cookies on their computer.

Using automatic de-duplication, the advertiser only displays the tracking for the network that last referred the customer. Therefore, only one network receives notification of the sale, thus removing the need to decline duplicate sales manually at the validations stage.

DHTML

An extended set of HTML commands which are used by Web designers to create much greater animation and interactivity than HTML.

Direct Linking

Direct Linking is when a publisher ad links directly to an advertiser’s site without going via a landing page or publisher site first.

For further information see Direct_Linking_-_Advantages_and_Disadvantages

Discount Code

This is a code that advertisers supply to publishers for them to promote on their sites that gives extra money off a purchase.

Typically the code is input at the first stage of the checkout process, which then takes off the value of the discount prior to entering card details.

Example codes include £5 off £50 spend, free delivery or 20% off.

Discrepancy

A difference between the statistics recorded for the same ad on two different ad serving systems, e.g. between a publisher’s ad server and an agency’s ad server.

Up to 10-15% discrepancies are considered to be a normal result of the different tracking methodologies employed. Higher discrepancies may be produced by incorrect implementation of ad code, errors in ad setup etc.

Domain

A unique name that identifies an Internet site. Every domain name consists of one top or high-level and one or more lower-level designators. Top-level domains are either generic (e.g. .com, .org) or geographic (e.g. .co.uk, .fr). Duplicate Commissions A duplicate commission is a commission that has appeared on the advertiser control panel more than once, normally due to a visitor refreshing the confirmation/thank-you page.

Domain Name

A domain name is the friendly name that we use to get to a website, for instance www.mysite.com

Duplicate Commissions

A duplicate commission is a commission that has appeared on the advertiser control panel more than once, normally due to a visitor refreshing the confirmation/thank-you page.

Dynamic Links

Dynamic links are links that can be updated quickly and easily by an advertiser across their publishers websites, this is ideal for keeping product information on publisher's sites up to date.

Dynamic Web Page

A web page which is generated from a template at the time of request from the affilaite. This allows the addition of personalised elements, live feeds of data, and other dynamic data

E

EPC

The average Earnings per Click is one of the calculations publishers will look at when considering to promote an advertiser. It is perhaps most important for PPC publishers whom need to assure that their EPC is greater than the cost per click paid to the search engine.

EPC is calculated by dividing the total publisher commission within a certain timeframe by the number of clicks that were generated.

For example, Affiliate X made £950 in commission for June, and achieved 1,200 clicks, £950/1,200 = 79p.

So their EPC is 79p per click.

F

First Party Cookie


Flash (Adobe)

This is a multimedia platform that is currently developed and distributed by Adobe systems. Flash went live in 1996 and is an alternative, but popular, way to use animation on websites or within banner adverts.

This tools gives a much more advanced and polished look/feel to animation and is perfect for using on rich media formats.

Forced Clicks

This is a click that occured without the users consent. See Cookie Stuffing.

Frequency

A term used to describe the number of times the same advertisement is shown to the same visitor during a particular session or time frame. This can be accomplished through the use of cookies.

G

GIF

The graphical interchange format (GIF) is a graphical file extension. Most banner advertisements are created in the GIF format. More popular than the JPEG format.

HTML

Hyper Text Mark-up Language (HTML) is a computer programming language that in which most webpages are contructed, it contains the instructions for how a website should appear to a visitor. An HTML editor is a software program that enables one to easily create HTML pages.

H

HTTP

The format most commonly used to transfer documents on the World Wide Web.

I

IAB

IAB stands for Internet Advertising Bureau, it is the trade association for digital advertising. The board regularly meet to discuss items on the digital agenda, including research and promotiong best practice for the industry.

Impression

An impression is the measure of the amount of times a web page is loaded and a banner is displayed to the visitor. Everytime a banner is loaded the impressions count increases.

Interstitial

An intrusive type of advertisement that loads between web pages, without having been requested by the visitor. Similar to superstitials except they do not load in the background.

Inventory

The number of ad spaces available for sale on a web site.

IP address

Internet protocol numerical address assigned to each computer on the network so that its location and activities can be distinguished from other computers.

J

Java

Java is a programming language, created by Sun, that enables developers to write software on one platform and run it on another. It is popular on the Internet as it allows programmers to create programs called applets to run within a web browser and develop server-side applications for online forums, stores, polls, processing HTML forms, and more.

JavaScript

JavaScript is a cross-platform, object-based scripting language developed by Netscape for client and server applications. It is commonly used on web pages to add interactivity and dynamic content such as banner rotation.

JPEG

Joint Photographic Experts Group (JPEG), pronounced "jaypeg", is a graphics format which displays photographs and graphic images with millions of colours. Great for photos, but graphics in the GIF format are still the preferred standard for web sites.

K

Keyword

Keywords are words or phrases that are commonly used by internet users in searches for a particular type of website, often providing a certain product/service or information.

L

Landing Page

The specific web page that a visitor reaches after clicking a link.

Lead

A lead is information that may be used later to provide a sale later on. This is normally a request for a quote, the ordering of a brochure or the completion of a questionnaire.

Linked Accounts

Programmes can be linked in two ways:

  • referrer credited
  • advertiser credited

Both work by two or more accounts being linked. Once a publisher joins up to one programme they are automatically joined to any linked accounts. This system should only be used as a backup to avoid leakage on a site, which may hinder the chances of a publisher being awarded commission they deserve.

Leakage

Leakage is the term used to describe mechanisms on an advertisers website that result in customers either purchasing in a non-trackable manner e.g/ over the phone, cause the customer to leave the site, or purchase from an area of the site that the publisher is not awarded sales on.

Linking Code

This is the code that a publisher uses to link to an advertisers website.

Links

A link is any form of getting the visitor to visit an advertisers website. This is normally in the form of a graphical banner or text link.

M

Manual Commissions

A manual commission is money paid to a publisher, which for whatever reason did not go through the normal validation procedure. Manual commissions can be used to fix errors in payments, or give commission to publishers for offline sales.

Merchant/Advertisers

(also called Retailer, E-retailer, or Online Retailer) An advertiser is a website that rewards publishers for placing links to the advertiser on their own website, normally on a CPA basis. Advertisers place ads and links to their products and services on other websites (publishers) through Awin and pay those publishers a commission for the resulting leads or sales.

Merchant ID/Advertiser ID

An advertiser ID is how Awin tell each advertiser apart on our system. It is our unique reference.

Microsite

A microsite is a small interactive HTML or rich media advert that is often used as a popup on an advertisers website. They are an effective way of engaging a vistor’s attention as they contain both interactive content, and product information.

N

Network Override

This is the percentage charged to the advertiser for the networks services. The standard amount is 30% and is calculated from the total amount of publisher commission for a set period of time.

O

Offline Orders

An offline order is an order which takes place outside of the normal shopping cart software, normally by telephone, fax or email. Advertisers that enable publisher commissions through offline sales are able to add manual commission to a publisher for generating a sale though an offline method.

Online Fraud

This is a general term for any scams that are run over the internet. Spyware is a type of online fraud as is "phising" which is a technique used to collect sensitive information illegally from a users PC such as passwords and credit card details.

Optimisation

The process of prioritising certain creatives within a campaign in order to serve more impressions of those ads which have a high click-through rate. Some ad serving solutions are able to do this automatically.

Order Reference

This is whatever the advertiser uses as a unique reference for the sales/leads on their website.

P

Page Source

The HTML code which is written to describe the layout and contents of a web page.

Payment Level

Advertisers Payment Levels are an excellent way of giving your best advertisers bigger commissions or longer tracking periods. They work by automatically promoting good publishers who meet targets you set to higher levels.

Pop-under

A type of advertisement that is automatically displayed in a second smaller browser window behind the current window upon loading or unloading a normal web page. Pop behind advertisements tend to cost advertisers more since their visibility is higher but are considered less annoying than pop ups by web site visitors.

Pop-up

A type of advertisement that is automatically displayed in a second smaller browser window upon loading or unloading a normal web page. Pop ups advertisements tend to cost advertisers more since their visibility is higher but are often considered annoying by web site visitors since they are considered obtrusive

Post Click

An action performed by a user in a web page that contains Spotlight, BBT or Webprint tags, where the visit is a result of having clicked on an ad. The user must have clicked an ad served by the ad server which created the tags to access the advertiser's website and then perform an activity for it to be counted as a post-click activity.

Post Impression

An action performed by a user in an advertiser’s web page that contains Spotlight, BBT or Webprint tags, after having seen an ad for the advertiser (that is, an impression of an ad has been served to the web user). The user must have viewed an ad served by the ad server which created the tags, and then visit the advertiser's website and perform an activity for it to be counted as a post-impression activity

PNG

Portable Network Graphics (PNG) is a bitmapped image format that employs lossless data compression.

PPC

PPC stands for Pay Per Click which is a payment model used mainly by search engines and price comprison sites.

If advertisers wish to bid on specific keywords they select a list with each of the search engines. This means that if a user searches for one of the specified keywords they will appear within the "sponsored listings" search results.

If the user then clicks on the advert or "sponsored result" the advertisers will be charged a cost per click.

The price of the advert will vary dependant on how much the advertiser was willing to pay, the position they are trying to achieve and for Google, the quality score.

Product Feed

A product feed is a data file of all of an advertisers products from their website. It contains a variety of fields such as the product ID, name, RRP, price, link to the offer page, image URL, specifications...

Awin have technical guidelines on what fields are required and how they should be labelled.

A feed can be downloaded in a .csv or .xml format dependant on which type the publisher prefers. Typically these feeds are used by price comparison sites, or publishers wishing to list all of a advertisers deals.

Publisher

(also called Affiliate or Partner)

A publisher has an online audience, whether that be the through a website or e-mail database.

They act as a virtual sales force for advertisers and are rewarded commission when their online traffic click on banners, logos or text links and then make a purchase.

Commission may also be achieved from other actions such as completion of an application form, or the booking of a test drive.


Publisher Directory

Awin's publisher directory features a profile for each publisher signed up to the network. Advertisers are able to search the directory for

Publisher Tags

The code which is placed on a publisher’s website which sends a request to the publisher’s ad server for an ad

R

Reach

The number of unique visitors that visited a site over the course of the reporting period, expressed as a percent of the universe for the demographic category. Also called unduplicated audience. Redirects when used in reference to online advertising, one server assigning an ad-serving or ad-targeting function to another server, often operated by a third company. For instance, a Web publisher's ad management server might re-direct to a third-party hired by an advertiser to distribute its ads to target customers; and then another re-direct to a "rich media" provider might also occur if streaming video were involved before the ad is finally delivered to the consumer.

Real Time

No delay in the processing of requests for information. This is apart from the time necessary for the data to travel over the internet

Rich Media

A type of advertisement technology that often includes richer graphics, audio or video within the advertisement. Unlike static or animated GIF banner advertisements, rich media advertisements often enable users to interact with the banner without leaving the page on which it appears. Some popular types of rich media banners are created with HTML, Shockwave & Flash.

S

Sale

A sale is any purchase made on an advertisers website.

SCRIPT

Files that initiate routines like generating Web pages dynamically in response to user input.

Search Engine Position

A sites search engine position is whereabouts on the results the site comes when a searcher enters common terms that relate to the websites content/business.

Sector

The area of retail which your site predominantly features. For example, Dixons primary sector is Electronics.

Secure Server

A website that handles online transactions is often hosted on a secure server. This means that all the information sent to and from the server is encrypted, or guard against people ‘listening in’ on the transaction and gaining valuable information such as credit card details etc. Most confirmation pages are hosted on secure servers as they will contain information about the transaction. You can tell a secure connection from an insecure one, by the address of https:// and normally a ‘padlock’ icon on the status bar at the bottom of the browser.

Secure Site

An environment in which cryptographic protocols are used to prevent unauthorized people from seeing the confidential information that is transferred between a user’s computer and the website. A secure server environment also protects the server against intrusion. Secure server environments are commonly used for e-commerce, online banking, online stock trading, and other financial transactions on the web. Most confirmation pages are hosted on secure servers as they will contain information about the transaction. You can tell a secure connection from an insecure one, by the address of https:// and normally a ‘padlock’ icon on the status bar at the bottom of the browser.

SEO

SEO stands for Search Engine Optimisation. It is a technique used to attempt to gain high rankings for a advertiser website within the natural search areas on search engines such as Google.

Shockwave

A software plug-in that enables browsers to play multimedia animations. Some rich media advertisements require users to have this plug-in.

Site Placement

A complete description of an ad slot or set of ad slots within a site. The site placement includes information about the size of the ad slots, pricing, and the placement and website where they are located. Site placements can be targeted.

Sponsored Listings

This form of search engine advertising guarantees that your site will appear in the top results for the keyword terms you target. For Google, these results appear to the top and right of the results page.

Spotlight Tags

Spotlight Tag is the proprietary name for Tracer Tags in the DoubleClick DART for Advertiser ad server system. A Spotlight tag is a specific type of HTML tag that is used to track the activities of users that visit a given web page. The Spotlight tag consists of an HTML image element and source attribute (<img scr>), which defines the location of a graphic file and requests a creative. Spotlight tags request a 1x1 pixel GIF from the ad servers.

Spyware

Spyware is a form of software that gathers information about a person or company without them giving "informed" consent. Most commonly spyware can be placed on a users PC when they agree to terms in an EULA (end user license agreement) which are perhaps misleading or hidden.

Common ways spyware is added to a users PC is from Screensavers or "smileys".

Standard Tags

Basic ad code tags, consisting of a simple image and click-through call. These tags can only be used to serve basic gif or jpeg images; they cannot be used for Rich Media of any description.

T

Tags

An HTML command, embedded in the text of an HTML document, that describes the document’s logical structure and behavior and determines how the file is displayed in browsers. These tags send the request for an ad to the ad servers.

Tracking Tag

A tracking tag is the piece of code which sits on the advertisers website to enable Awin to report within the system when a sale has occured.

Various fields of information are caputred by the tracking tag including total sale value, commission group codes and voucher code (if used).

Tracking Period

The tracking period is the length of time that the Awin software tracks a clickthrough from a publishers website. Any sales made during this period will appear as commissions on the advertisers control panel.

Tracking URL

URLs that are redirected through an ad server to enable click-throughs in a message to be counted.

Traffic

Traffic to a website is essentially a measure of the number of visitors a website has during a set period. Website traffic can be increased through things like publisher marketing and search engine positioning.

Transaction

A transaction is any entry on the Awin system that results in a pending, declined or accepted commission. This is any lead or sale, whether duplicate or not.

3rd party tracking

A tracking tag that is implemented onto an advertiser's website that reports information/data to an external source.

U

Unique Users

Unique individual or browser which has either accessed a site (see unique visitor) or which has been served unique content and/or ads such as e-mail, newsletters, interstitials and pop-under ads. Unique users can be identified by user registration or cookies. Reported unique users should filter out robots.

URL

Uniform Resource Locator (URL) is the Internet "address" of a web site or web page on the world wide web. For example our sites URL is http://www.adratesonline.com. A browser requires this information in its location box in order to load a web page.

V

Valid Domain

A valid domain is the domain that the Awin system recognises as a valid confirmation page code has been shown from. This ensures that people cannot generate sales on our sytstem without having gone through the advertisers website.

Validating Commissions

Awin ask that advertisers validate the commissions for their publishers manually, as this ensures that only valid commissions are validated, thus giving the advertisers much more control over how much they pay to publishers.

Validation period

The amount of time taken for a pending sale to be validated. A short validation period is a sign of a strong advertisers programme.

Visitor

Simply someone viewing the website, normally from an advertisment, search or directly entering the URL.

Vomba

Vomba is a type of adware. Once this is on the users PC it creates a huge amount of popups and contextual adverts. They are notorius for underhand tactics to force installation onto a users PC.

Voucher Code

See Discount Code.

W

Web-based

Requiring no software to access an online service or function, other than a web browser and access to the internet.

Web Optimisation

Web optimisation refers to the process of improving a website for:

a) Slicker user journey resulting in increased conversion rates b) Increase natural search results position within search engine results pages (SERPS)

An advertiser can use a variety of tools to optimise their website, including free analytics packages such as Google Analytics and recruiting third party specialist agencies.

Web-portal

A website or service that offers an array of resources and services, such as email, forums, search engine results and online shopping.

Webprints

Webprint is the proprietary name for Tracer Tags in the Zego ad server system. A Webprint tag is a specific type of HTML tag that is used to track the activities of users that visit a given web page. The Webprint tag consists of an HTML image element and source attribute (<img scr>), which defines the location of a graphic file and requests a creative. Webprint tags request a 1x1 pixel GIF from the ad servers.

Web Services

A Web service (also Web Service) is defined by the W3C as "a software system designed to support interoperable machine-to-machine interaction over a network".[1] Web services are frequently just Web APIs that can be accessed over a network, such as the Internet, and executed on a remote system hosting the requested services.

X

XML Feed

See also Product Feed.

XML stands for "Extensible Markup Language" and this is a format that publishers can download all products for a particular advertiser.

It is a generic structure that is displayed as a "tree" format and is a more complex file than simplified .csv.

Privacy

Due to new European legislation regarding how websites store information about you, AWIN is updating its privacy policy. You can see the new version of our policy here. If you would like to see the information we capture on this website, please click here for further details. In order to accept cookies on this site please click the 'I ACCEPT' button